Gov. Justice adds 29 members to PEIA Task Force

UPDATE: Gov. Jim Justice announced the six additional appointees of the PEIA Task Force Monday, listed below:

• Beth “Buffy” Hammers, CEO, Marshall Health

• Helen Matheny, Director of Collaborative Relations and Initiatives, WVU Health Sciences Center

• Lisa M. Simon, Certified Public Accountant, Wheeling

• Sarita Beckett, Public Schools Teacher, Raleigh County

• Dr. Sherri Young, Medicare Medical Director, Aetna Insurance

• Amy Loring, Human Resources Coordinator and Director of Staffing and Employee Relations, Berkeley County Schools

The first meeting is scheduled for Tuesday.


UPDATE: Gov. Jim Justice announced today he will be adding six additional women to the Task Force, upping the number to 29. Justice released this statement Friday:

“After hearing additional input today from the Legislature, I will be amending my Executive Order concerning the formation of the PEIA Task Force to increase the number of members from 23 to 29 and I will be adding six additional women to the group. Those appointments will be made on Monday.”


West Virginia Governor Jim Justice announced the 23 members of the PEIA Task Force. They will research and make recommendations in finding a permanent solution to fix the health care plan for state employees.

Justice Administration Chief of Staff Mike Hall will serve as chair to the Task Force. The first meeting is scheduled for 2 p.m. Tuesday, March 13 at the State Capitol.

The members are below:

• Marty Becker, Chairman of the Board of Directors, QBE Insurance Group

• Greg Burton, CEO Brickstreet Insurance

• Andy Paterno, CEO Centurion Insurance Services

• Joe Letnaunchyn, President & CEO, West Virginia Hospital Association

• Rob Alsop, Vice President for Strategic Initiatives, West Virginia University

• Nelson Spencer, McDowell County Schools Superintendent

• Perry Bryant, Executive Director, West Virginians for Affordable Healthcare

• Senator Mitch Carmichael (R-Jackson)

• Senator Robert Plymale (D-Cabell)

• Senator Craig Blair (R-Berkeley)

• Delegate Eric Nelson (R-Kanawha)

• Delegate Roger Hanshaw (R-Clay)

• Delegate Mick Bates (D-Raleigh)

• Geoff Christian, current member PEIA Board

• Christine Campbell, President, American Federation of Teachers West Virginia

• Dale Lee, President, West Virginia Education Association

• James “Joe” White, Executive Director, West Virginia School Service Personnel Association

• Dr. Rahul Gupta, Commissioner of Department of Health and Human Resources Bureau for Public Health and State Health Officer

• Douglas Kirk, Division of Highways

• Lieutenant Michael LaFauci, West Virginia State Police

• The Honorable Jeffrey Reed, Retired Wood County Circuit Court Judge

• Judy Hale, Retired Public Educator

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off