Seeds, brackets announced for Ron Mauck OVAC Wrestling Tournament


The stage is set for the annual Ron Mauck OVAC Wrestling Tournament at Wesbanco Arena. Seeds and brackets are out for the event which opens Thursday night at Wesbanco Arena and continues through the finals Saturday night, televised live at 6:30 p.m. on WTOV9.

Parkersburg South has won seven of the eight overall titles since it joined the OVAC, including a record amount of team points en route to winning the title last year. The Patriots have 10 wrestlers earning top eight seeds.

Also with 10 wrestlers seeded within the top eight is Steubenville and Wheeling Park. Beaver Local leads the way with 11 wrestlers seeded in the top eight, including three No. 1 seeds. The top eight wrestlers in each class earn a spot on the podium,

Seven champions from 2018 return this year, while three more previous champs from 2017 are also back (Peyton Hall, Alec Cook, Zane Hinzman).

The following are the top seeds in each weight class:

106 - Alex Overly, Shenandoah

113 - Howie Williams, East Liverpool (2018 champ at 106)

120 - Logan Ours, Beaver Local

126 - Cole McComas, Beaver Local (Two-time champ - 106 in 2017, 113 in 2018) - 2nd seed Tucker Windland from South was 120 champ in 2018

132 - Jacob Simpson, University

138 - Peyton Hall, Oak Glen ( 2017 champ at 120)

145 -Brayden Roberts, Parkersburg South (2018 champ at 126)

152 - Anthony Rice, Steubenville (2018 champ at 138)

160 - Zane Hinzman, Parkersburg South (2017 champ at 152)

170 - Beau Smith, Beaver Local

182 -Anthony Carman, John Marshall (2018 champ at 160)

195 - Garrett Cook, Madonna

220 - Braxton Amos, Parkersburg South ( 2018 champ at 220)

285 - Louden Haga, Parkersburg South